Script for a Jesters Tear (black vinyl)

Item No.: 10656657
Label : Parlophone
Release : 2021

Marillion reissue their debut album "Script For A Jester's Tear" in 2021 as a 2020 stereo remix on 180g vinyl. The new vinyl edition was cut from the original vinyl production masters and mixed by Andy Bradfield and Avril Mackintosh. It comes in a gatefold cover with the original artwork. There is also a remastered CD version

"Script For A Jester's Tear" was originally released in 1983, recorded between December 1982 and February 1983 at The Marquee Studios in London and produced by Nick Tauber. It is also the only Marillion album to feature drummer and band co-founder Mick Pointer, in addition to vocalist Fish, guitarists Steve Rothery and Pete Trewavas, and keyboardist Mark Kelly.

"Script For A Jester's Tear" is now considered a milestone of British neo-prog, and was intended as part of a trilogy, along with the subsequent albums "Fugazi" (1984) and "Misplaced Childhood" (1985). The album contains a total of six tracks. All the songs had been performed by Marillion several times before, except for the title track, which they composed only in the studio.

Thanks to the hit singles "He Knows You Know" and "Garden Party," which reached #35 and #1 on the charts in the UK, respectively, "Script For A Jester's Tear" became a commercial success in the UK, landing at number seven on the album charts there. It was also certified platinum.

The album cover by painter and graphic artist Mark Wilkinson shows a sad court jester with violin and quill pen and contains various references to songs and lyrics, partly also to pieces that were only released on later Marillion albums.
Add to wishlist
Article numbers
  1   Items
Delivery times
Delivery Time:
On stock, dispatched immediately

This item is often purchased together with:

Last viewed items